I Have Not Forgotten

A little over 3 years ago, I wrote a piece called ‘For The Ending of Possibilities’.
I wrote it in response to the terrorist attack on a school in Pakistan.
Since then, there have been countless acts of unforgivable violence across the world. It seems that the world grows bleaker every day. In the face of such injustice, what can we possibly do?

Since December 2014, I have grown older, and perhaps a little wiser. Since then, I have written two dissertations (currently on my third), all of them have concerned populations embroiled in different kinds of conflict. Since then, I have worked at a juvenile rehabilitation centre. I have worked with an NGO that specializes in Peace Education. I have trained as an Art Based Therapist. I have worked with countless schools students about suffering they have not personally witnessed. I have worked with two communities that live on the fringe of society (literally). I have had to confront my own suffering through all of this.
In the last few days, it has come to light, that a young child was raped for days and murdered. My feed, as has in the past, is inundated with posts of outrage.
How could we let this happen? Have we come so low as a society that we no longer have the humanity to avenge a little girl? It reminded me of a moment from my favourite show, Fullmetal Alchemist. Edward Elric asks, nobody in general, “What good are we if we couldn’t even save a little girl?”

I would be a hypocrite if I said that I have remembered each and every instance of suffering since December 2014.
What I do stand by, however, is that I have not forgotten. I have not forgotten that there is suffering in this world. I have not forgotten that we live in a world where justice is not always served. I have not forgotten that little children become the stage for violence in this world.

In the show, Edward and his brother, keep trying to answer the question of their own ability. The show doesn’t give you an outright answer but rather takes you on the journey of them figuring it out. That’s what I’m doing right now, as well.
This is my answer: Nothing.
There is absolutely nothing that we can do to stop every instance of suffering in this world. We do not have that power. We cannot be Superman.
What we can do, however, is stand back up. Edward tells another girl, who saw her life crumble before her eyes, “Stand up and walk. Keep moving forward. You’ve got two good legs. So get up and use them. You’re strong enough to make your own path.”
I’d like to add to that, we must learn to stand together. We must learn to be kind and compassionate to everybody, including those that we may not agree with, and especially ourselves.

Sometimes, this means that we forego the questions of ourselves. We must dedicate our attention to everyone else. Sometimes, it means that we allow ourselves to take a break. At other times it means that we take an unwavering stand.

We must never forget to be kind, whatever that may mean.

Leave a comment